Baby misses dad's beard (video)

[Permalink]

Regarding the title: That’s what the mother says in the video.

Doesn’t seem to be funny from the kid’s perspective.

But hey - maybe I’m too old-fashioned for this kind of stuff. I’m not an expert at laughing about other people’s emotional confusion. Should I learn and practice ridiculing unnerved kids?

1 Like

Not really missing. More like surprised in a scary and uncomfortable kind of way.

1 Like

There’s not much I remember from age 3, but I recall clearly an incident very reminiscent of this.

2 Likes

Needs beard googles?

No, this is just witty lighthearted slightly cruel mainstream lack of EI. Please do not join in :smile:

2 Likes

They may have made their kid cry but they posted the video too.
Probably it’s quite important to experience jarring changes in people’s appearances for the first time, in a safe and loving environment.
But I do now think it might have been interesting to see the reaction if baby had watched daddy shave.

3 Likes

What an adorable little test subject! I had the same experience once, although the child was not mine. A familiar voice coming from a different face creeps the hell out of kids. Fun for the whole family!

My kids cried about 1,000 times per day at that age, or at least it felt like it. Something they were delighted by one minute, they found horrifying the next. When we gave older boy a haircut, younger boy was thrilled at his brother’s new fuzzy noggin, but it could have easily been the other way around. Long story short, I don’t think it’s cruel. You can’t protect a 1-year old from everything that could possibly make them feel alarmed.

She’s adorable and her bond with her dad is evident.

7 Likes

What I don’t really understand is how in the seven hells did that guy take off the beard SO FAST. It takes me ten minutes to deal with the stubble alone!

2 Likes

She’s adorable and her bond with her dad is evident.

Yes.