Beastie Boys open letter: "threat" was just a misunderstanding

[Permalink]

sounds like GoldieBlocks is gonna sell a lot of toys.

3 Likes

I read this as they’ve looked deep into the eyes of the Streisand abyss, and are trying to decide how to save face for their anti-ad stance while stepping back from the unfair use claim.

6 Likes

I’m a lawyer but not yours and not a copyright lawyer… is advertising really fair use? (Edited to make my disclaimer more disclaim-y.)

4 Likes

I know, right? As way cool as the Beasties are, I kinda hate them now. HATE.

1 Like

maybe the 2 remaining beastie boys are just trying to honour the wishes of their lifelong friend who died not all that long ago?

16 Likes

I’d recommend the twitter feed of @doctorow or @waxpancake, where there are a lot of educated (and uneducated) folks weighing in. As I understand it, there’s a four-factor test, only one of which hinges upon advertising. And even then, it doesn’t say advertising can’t enjoy fair use, only that it might receive “less indulgence.”

Given the strong pro-feminist / anti-sexist message of the video in relation to the original, it’s hard to imagine what would pass the bar if this doesn’t.

3 Likes

You know, as much as I admire the aims of the goldie blox toy, this seems to be pretty clearing used for commercial and not protected by"fair use". Beastie Boys don’t want their music used to sell products. That seems perfectly admirable. Whose side would you be on if it was Ford or Chevron that had appropriated music without consent or compensation?

11 Likes

Adam Yauch stated in his will that he doesn’t want the Beastie Boy’s music to ever be used in advertising.

9 Likes

To be fair the message of the advert is irrelevant, they’re still just slinging toys. If it were a McDonalds ad, even with a pro-feminist message, I can’t imagine the overall attitude to the situation would be the same.