Chain mail scrubber for cast iron pots and pans

[Permalink]

2 Likes

If you ever need to reseason your cast iron cookware, flaxseed oil is the absolute best choice. It polymerizes better than any other oil that’s safe for human consumption. To do the best job, apply a very thin layer, and bake at high heat for several hours, and let cool. Repeat the process at least 5 times. You will build up a seasoned, non-stick surface equal to or better than Lodge’s factory results.

8 Likes

Wouldn’t this scrape any seasoning you’ve built up right off of the cast iron?

I’d hope better – their non-stick was pretty sticky.

Nope. Not at all.

1 Like

A fantastic guide.

http://sherylcanter.com/wordpress/2010/01/a-science-based-technique-for-seasoning-cast-iron/

1 Like

Using anything metal to clean your cast iron pan is misinformation. Nylon bristles.

I’ve been cooking exclusively with cast iron for 12 years now and I can attest that the best method for cleaning is coarse salt. It has the added benefit of being antimicrobial and antibacterial as well as not scratching or scoring the surface. It can also be used on enameled cast iron such as Le Creuset which scrapers and chain-mail will destroy.

As for the linseed seasoning, many who have tried report that flaking is a serious issue. Lard is the best method I’ve found for seasoning. Coconut oil is a close second.

My prize pan is a #10 owned by my great grandmother over 100 years ago. It has only seen lard and salt for seasoning and cleaning. Nothing will stick to it. Even burned food comes right off. It’s also never been cleaned with water. The worlds best cornbread (IMO) comes from that pan.

7 Likes