Grateful Dead concert sells out in minutes

[Permalink]

I’m wondering if that gif might be problematic for people prone to seizures. For my part, it’s giving me a headache.

5 Likes

Also, for people on acid.

2 Likes
2 Likes

15,000 for a 3 day ticket? Not even if they have a holographic Jerry Garcia.

4 Likes

I’m humbled and honored to be included in the list of people disappointed in Boing Boing, and I’d like to thank all the little people who made it possible, etc., etc.

But to my main point…

It’s likely that at least some readers of Boing Boing suffer from epilepsy. A small percentage of people with epilepsy have photosensitive epilepsy, in which flashing lights can trigger seizures. There is a W3C standard for this kind of thing: http://www.w3.org/TR/UNDERSTANDING-WCAG20/seizure-does-not-violate.html

I’m an old editor, not a doctor, so I don’t know if that gif is big enough or flashy enough to cause a seizure. But there is a standard, and I’d like all Boing Boing readers to be as happy and as seizure-free as I usually am.

Thanks for listening.

3 Likes
1 Like

They don’t make those drugs any longer.

1 Like

Not even if they have the real Jerry Garcia

1 Like

get a [high-paying] job, hippie!

2 Likes

And people think Disneyland ticket is expensive.

Ain’t the Dead without Jerry.

Still going.

Fair enough.

I loved me some Jerry. His guitar, his voice, that envelope filter were the reason I went on tour in the 80’s. For me, it wasn’t the same without him. I went to some shows after, saw Phil and Bobby do their things, and musically they were wonderful. But it wasn’t the same.

Never will be the same…

Sold out in minutes…just like it used to do in the latter years of the Dead.

I dunno about seizures, but it was TRIPPING ME OUT, man!

Seriously, stare at it for a while and it’s like it’s just getting bigger and bigger and bigger and OMG IT’S TAKING OVER THE UNIVERSE…