Rich get richer, faster

[Permalink]

1 Like

This is one of the things I do for a living, and the study is right, but there are two issues that should be addressed first. First and foremost, most Americans in the 99% simply don’t have any financial education. Our schools don’t teach kids what a mutual fund is - so why would they grow up and use them in a smart way?

Another issue is risk. High-returning investments always involve risk, and estimating how much risk a client can bear is an art, not a science. Time horizon, financial position and psychology are all important.

Unfortunately, the folks who are really expert on this stuff generally don’t want to spend their time on anybody with less than a million to invest. For most of us, it’s hard to get good advice - and 100 other things also want our attention.

3 Likes

This is basically exactly what the first article says, btw. :smile:

And can somebody explain to me what “70 per cent times greater returns” means? My brain can’t parse that.

1 Like

It means your bank gives you 1% if you’re lucky, and my fund averages 7% - not 71%.

Of course the thing about risk, is the extant to which the wealthy and powerful can insulate themselves from downside risks, by say, having the government bail out AIG because rich and powerful people are the counterparties who will lose if they are unable to fulfill their contractual obligations.

2 Likes

Not counting the wealthy people who believed Bernie Madoff’s promised rate of returns and lost everything.

Which brings us to the other tragic reality (and one that applies better to us lesser folks)

You have to care a lot about money to make a lot of money.

People who value doing useful things don’t care as much about money as those who value money more than doing useful things.