Watch: Man drives backwards for miles through L.A.'s busy streets

[Read the post]

Perhaps it got stuck in reverse, and this was the only way to get back. I know someone who did this, but a lot slower and along quieter streets.

That probably wrecked the gearbox. The forward gears are usually case hardened, which means diffusing carbon into the surface to make them more wear resistant; but this is expensive as you then have to re-figure the hardened gears. They often skip the case hardening on reverse, or at least they used to, which means you only have five or ten miles of reverse driving total. That is usually enough for the lifetime of a car with ordinary driving.

5 Likes

Was it Pippa Garner? http://www.hardtuned.com/feature/htshorts/backwards/PGbackwards59.html

1 Like

Frack, as a noob I effed up turning a firetruck in reverse scraping a fuel standpipe near the training area. I got stuck doing something like 20 hours of fire engine reverse driving. I can pretty much cruise forever in reverse now after mastering the skill in a big truck, all mirrors too!

6 Likes

It was the only way to rewind time to the juncture point and save humanity. Maybe you people should be a little bit grateful!

10 Likes

Nah, it was some teens who had borrowed a sports car without permission and were trying to wind back the odometer to cover up the evidence. It didn’t end well.

18 Likes

Why wouldn’t the person call a tow, then?
Audi’s come with free road side assistance.

1 Like

I’m impressed and appalled at the same time…bravo.

1 Like

YIPES!!! That’s actually a reoccurring dream of mine. I’m at the wheel of a car that’s stuck in reverse, brakes broken and presumably the gas pedal too, and it’s just totally out of control. I couldn’t imagine doing that on purpose but man he makes it look easier than it is in my dreams.

Quite a few drivers decelerated when they saw this car in reverse. I wonder if doing so made it all safer somehow.