WD-40 pen

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2013/08/19/wd-40-pen.html

Half of the joy of WD40 is the odor. Damn kids, get off my lawn.

5 Likes

Know how to tell mechanics from everyone else? Mechanics don’t use WD-40 as a lubricant.

7 Likes

In a day bag? How often is this item actually needed for travel purposes?
I’ve managed to travel quite a bit and I’ve never recalled----DAMN I FORGOT THE WD-40.

Well except his one time with a dude I met at the hotel bar and some bad springs…ahhh, it’s a long story.

1 Like

With WD40, a Leatherman and a roll of duct tape you would be ready.

2 Likes

What do mechanics use in your neck of the woods?

My dad, a machinist by trade and shadetree mechanic by occasional necessity, used to use 3-in-One in his youth, but being a native San Diegan, has used WD-40 almost since its inception. But not for every lubricating application, of course. White lithium grease has its uses for which WD-40 would be of course completely inappropriate, as does motor oil and assembly lube and gear oil, etc. But we went through a lot of WD-40 over the years.

Definitely should never be used on bearings or other rapidly moving parts, but for creaky hinges, it’s golden.

I feel as though my life will come back into focus once I start to use WD-40 again.

2 Likes

My wife bought two twelve packs of this a couple years ago, and gave them away to everyone she could find. I never did see the point, but at least now I know she’s not alone in being insanely enthusiastic about it. :slight_smile:

Uhh… Corey, you might want to check out the toxic effects of WD40 at these links:

http://www.thedogpress.com/Columns/WD40-Danger-0708_Liquorman.asp

http://householdproducts.nlm.nih.gov/cgi-bin/household/brands?tbl=brands&id=23007001

San Diego, eh? I live in Tucson. WD-40 dries out in about a day here.

We use oil to lubricate stuff. The Zoom Spout Oiler that is sold in every hardware store works well on our swamp cooler bearings.