What happens when actual prisoners play The Prisoner's Dilemma?

[Permalink]

Surprise?
That college kids are prone to selfishness;
that prisoners come to believe cooperation is beneficial in the end.
I’m not surprised in the least…

1 Like

When I learned this (in college, natch) it was always heavily implied, if not right outright stated, that prisoners wouldn’t cooperate with one another.

Somehow, that’s not surprising, either. Beliefs formed in ignorance / self delusion…

No surprise to me. 1. People in less secure, more stressful situations are more likely to cooperate because it increases the chances of mutual survival. 2. Anti-snitch behavior is profoundly promoted in prison culture. 3. As a university professor I know prisoners are much nicer than college students (ok, 3 is mostly snark).

laughs The researcher missed one crucial factor. Self preservation.

You don’t rat. Period.
I did two and a half years.

6 Likes

I think this has less to do with cooperation and more to do with a severe distrust of the police and prosecutors. Prisoners first think that their interrogator is lying, so would rather side with another prisoner than give up information. I imagine this is significantly different compared to people who are caught on their first offense, too, and would change depending on the person’s social background.

2 Likes

Fick as fieves ain’t they?

2 Likes

Its actually pretty obvious: Multi-round prisoners’ dilemma has an optimal and well known solution: tit-for-tat. Namely, “Cooperate until someone F-s you, and then you F-them up, and F-them up good”. Its only single-round prisoners dilemma that you actually benefit from being the first to be antagonistic. One of my goals in life is to make sure I’m only involved in multi-round prisoners’ dilemma games.