Young-Holt Unlimited's Soulful Strut

[Permalink]

2 Likes

Jase, you need to put a compilation of Nemo videos to this score.

2 Likes

That made me happy – I GETE (grinned ear to ear) as soon as it started.
I must head to the shop to assemble some shoes that automatically start playing Soulful Strut whenever I walk (it will only play if the inertial sensors register movement that is within soulful parameters). I will then head to the North Woods for a long hike. The hypnotic tunes will draw legions of strutting Woodcock! ??? Profit!

Edit: since I am not very good with miniaturized electronics and I need enough room for the speakers, I will use these shoes as the build platform:

5 Likes

You’ll want an A/B switch for this:

2 Likes

Perfect!
I need to integrate the Happy++ functionality – the more funk in my strut the more Strut++.

This project uses your smile to control an audio mix. As you smile, the song blossoms from a low-fi drum track to a full, hi-fi stereo mix.

the piano is a ringer for Ramsey Lewis, and when I saw that Young and Holt were the names of Lewis’ sidemen on an Argo label release, I figured it was a lock. Still, I was bothered that there was never any mention of the more famous Lewis vis-a-vis this song, so I broke down and looked it up to find that Young and Holt recruited an imitator. Weird.

Here’s Lewis, Young and Holt

Soulful Strut was used as a sample by the Beastie Boys for a hilarious b-side track called “Mike D is in Love” but it is inexplicably not uploaded to youtube :frowning:

1 Like

I remember playing a marching band version of this tune in the the early 70’s. It was one of the few pop songs adapted to that kind of format that actually worked, and was a joy to perform. Now, for the history lesson.