Bill to ban terms of service that say you're not allowed to complain

[Permalink]

2 Likes

That says it all.

4 Likes

Though it came out in July, yesterday I listened to a story that this article brought racing back to my mind. It was The New Provisions by Adam-Troy Castro, podcast by Lightspeed Magazine.

Find it here

I have a deep and abiding love of distopian fiction, but this one was so timely it verged on horror.

ETA: I forgot to add that I recommend the story and the podcast. Good stuff.

Iā€™d also like to see a bill barring the practice of gag orders on ā€œconfidentialā€ settlements - I suppose one could argue thereā€™s a benefit to people being able to settle quickly if a company doesnā€™t have to admit wrong-doing and doesnā€™t have to disclose the amount of the settlement, but the negative societal impact outweighs the individual impact, IMO.

6 Likes

I am not a lawyer, or an American, or in fact anything other than a partially-eaten ham sandwich, but Iā€™m curious to know if this would be constitutional.

I certainly hope so. If itā€™s constitutional to be able to sign away your freedom of speech, then it ought to be constitutional to ban that sort of thing.

This could get interesting. Doesnā€™t Oracle have a ā€œno publishing benchmarksā€ clause?

On what theory do you believe this bill could be unconstitutional? Iā€™m genuinely curious, because I canā€™t for the life of me figure out how this bill might infringe on corporate speech. The 1st doesnā€™t guarantee anyone the right from criticism.

1 Like

Did you read the line where I explained I am a ham sandwich?

Iā€™m curious as to whether thereā€™s a Constitutional protection to the right to enter into a contract. Iā€™ve heard the First Amendment interpreted to mean one can enter into just about any kind of binding contract, with very specific (ā€˜inalienable rightā€™) exceptions.

But then, I heard it from a very libertarian potato salad, so I am skeptical.

4 Likes