A likely embarrassing question about the conversation layout

So I’m pretty new to the BoingBoing BBS. Have to say, you guys are a wonderful, smart, and creative community, and I always enjoy my visits. I am, however, not understanding the way the conversations are presented. Replies to parent posts display nested under the parent post, but then appear again as parent posts themselves. So it makes following the conversation extremely annoying. I’ll Try to illustrate what I see:

Main post:
Reply to main post 1
Reply to main post 2

Reply to main post 1 (again)

Reply to main post 2 (again)

Is this supposed to work this way and I just don’t understand the purpose? OR can I turn it off somehow? Didn’t see anything on the “Preferences” page.

All the posts appear unnested in chronological order. The buttons with each post will display a reminder of what the parent post said, or will show you the replies right away. That doesn’t change the unnested listing of all the posts. The only way to turn it off is to not use those buttons. But when you find a reply twenty posts later, you’ll appreciate the buttons. The “replies” button is also useful as a quick check that somebody hasn’t already replied in the way you were going to.

3 Likes

Ok, this is a new paradigm for me. It’s frustrating to me to click the “Replies” button, read all of the replies to a post that I liked, and then run into those comments again out of context after several scrolls down the page.

I know this has been covered in great length in previous meta topics so I wil not rehash.

TL;DR Discourse is a hybrid but primarily flat discussion system. The expanding context below and above posts is like a sneak preview system, not a substitute for reading the topic by scrolling and following the natural pull of gravity down, down, down.

Our current thinking is that there are two types of readers:

1. traditional scroll down readers

2. click to expand and collapse every conversation readers