A project to algorithmically generate all "prior art" and obviate the patent system

[Read the post]

3 Likes

Isn’t prior art irrelevant under the new “first to file” rules?

2 Likes

Is this a recent change? I thought the USPTO uses a first-inventor-to-file system with all the funny fall-out such a system generates and not - like most other patent offices - a strict FTF.

1 Like

Yeah, the USPTO recently changed to conform to the European practice which is first to file. I think the prior art can still invalidate a patent, but it can’t be used to claim a patent which somebody has already filed for.

3 Likes

I’m not an expert in this field, but as I understand it, the US used to award patents on a first-to-invent basis. Recently (last few years) they have changed to a first-to-file basis. As I understand it, this makes prior art mostly irrelevant.

My hope is that someone with a greater level of understanding than mine will comment here confirming or correcting this.

1 Like

Don’t all irrational numbers already contain all of these…and everything else?

9 Likes

from the site:
"-Even with the change to the first-to-file system in the USA, the patent applicant still needs to prove they are the original inventor, which would not be true for any inventions published here."

4 Likes

No, it doesn’t. Arguably it is almost the opposite.

The basic first-to-file system is that if there is prior art, then the patent can’t be granted. If there isn’t then it can, no matter who invented it originally.

1 Like

Yes, but only if you file. If you just create prior art then (presumably) someone else can file on it.

1 Like

No, they can’t because then it is no longer novel. The point of first-to-file is just that inventions are treated as original if nobody filed or published before, ignoring what may have happened behind closed doors.

3 Likes

I see. That clarifies things for me.