Administrator has enabled read-only mode?


#1

I’ve seen a bunch of messages popping up on the BBS this morning saying something along the lines of “An administrator has enabled read-only mode.” It appears briefly, then disappears again. About every 10-15 minutes, give or take. Any idea what’s going on?


#2

Just saw it again, and was able to cut and paste the second sentence (typo and all!) in the pop-up, because it appeared for long enough:

“You can continue to browse the site but interations won’t work properly.”


#3

This happens when an administrator is doing a backup of the site. The site is marked as read-only in order to prevent data corruption and a message is pushed to all users to warn them.


#4

Interesting, I’ve never seen it before today, and today I am seeing it like crazy. It’s not a big deal, really, I was just curious.


#5

We’re having a bug where the message is being published to all users instead of users of a single site. We’re running tests on other forums but the message is being pushed to all forums.


#6

That would explain it. Thanks! :slight_smile:


#7

Thanks for reporting this. The bug is now fixed. Will be deployed here today :slight_smile:


#8

I had a similar message a few days ago, while I was typing a post. I would see the message for a second, then the whole page would reload, losing what I had typed since the last auto save. It hasn’t happen since then, so it may have been fixed by your update.


#9

This topic was automatically closed after 1095 days. New replies are no longer allowed.