All versions of Openssh share a critical vulnerability, including embedded code that will never be updated

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2018/08/22/eternal-defects.html

1 Like

All versions of Openssh share a critical low to medium risk vulnerability, including embedded code that will never be updated.

Fixed it for you. As a security researcher, I have never flagged username enumeration as a high or critical risk item. Bad, yes. But, “rip all systems from the network and patch them or buy new hardware” as calling something critical implies, this problem is not.

21 Likes

Yeah, the main threat I can think of is if there’s certain users w/ common default PWs in various flavors of *nix… but wouldn’t you be able to know to try those through the OS enumeration of a tool like nmap?

1 Like

This is why for any production use, you should use key based auth anyhow.

1 Like

I would guess that the great majority of affected embedded installations have a single, static ssh user (probably called “admin”), in which case this flaw is very nearly moot.

There are situations where knowing a list of usernames would significantly assist in other mischief, or even be compromising in itself. But if a host has a non-trivial set of user accounts, it’s likely to be a sufficiently complex system that it is possible to do the full range of admin stuff, including patching software (though whether that actually happens is another question).

4 Likes

I reckon a significant percentage of those “billions” already have the rather more concerning “heartbleed” bug. That was only four years ago.

3 Likes

Ssh! The baby’s sleeping!

anigif_sub-buzz-22467-1501863599-3

Most of those crummy IoT devices have usernames that can’t be changed and are well-known anyway.

Don’t put password-based-auth devices on the internets. That goes for SSH, your router admin page, whatever. Bots will dictionary attack you all day long.