American education's use of "value added measures" is statistically bankrupt

[Permalink]

If I understand the article correctly, the flaw is that some teachers teach students assigned to them because they are slower learners, while other teachers teach those who learn more rapidly. By design, the latter teachers will have a greater “value added” score than the former.

4 Likes

I remember this grading system from when I took Chemistry in High School. The system has a major flaw. If you start with a high score, but do not advance very far, it does not count how much you know in relation to the rest of the class.

The teacher gave a college prep exam before and after the course. As a first year student, my starting score was higher than the final score of any of his second year students. (Always learn a subject before you take a class in it.) Blew his grading method out the window. (As did my experiments in his class.)

3 Likes

This is a pretty bogus criticism. Sure, random assignment is necessary to establish a causal relationship between the factors you are comparing because otherwise there may be some confounding variable. But t all depends on what they are doing with these measures–what inferences are they trying to make. I would think we are most interested in having teachers do the things that work best for the students in their classroom, and not for a hypothetical randomly-chosen student who may have different needs. If for most kids, making them eat peanut butter helped them do math better, a teacher in a class with nut allergies might be expected to try other things.