Ben Goldacre's "I Think You'll Find It's a Bit More Complicated Than That"

[Permalink]

2 Likes

As if I needed more reason to like the man. He had me at the title. This is part of the fascinating problem with being an expert in anything: People don’t understand you, don’t believe you, and outright challenge you when you try to explain things to them. Me? I’m not an expert in anything except my own life, the jobs I’ve held long enough, and the occasional segment of popular culture trivia. I’d like to be someday, but that a ways off. However, I do have the great fortune to have befriended experts in various fields of research, study, and practice. Doctors, engineers, professors, and just plain skilled and/or self-taught geeks and craftspeople. To a person, they all have had run-ins with people who will insist that things are not so complicated as these experts make it out to be.

If I tell you that I was once in a two-year relationship with a woman, and it was complicated, you would believe me in a heartbeat. You might take the message that I don’t feel like talking about it from the phrasing, but you would also very literally believe it was complicated. Yet, real, honest-to-goodness experts who’ve spent decades looking into something don’t get the benefit of the doubt when they express the conclusion to a complicated theory. (e.g. Climate change, general relativity, etc.)