Can diverse character art invite you into a game genre you normally avoid?

[Read the post]

3 Likes

As an engineer, I like the Engineer. But, it didn’t make me want to play the game. It did make me want to know if she’s holding a Triac or an SCR. Maybe it’s exotic and it’s a thyristor!

Nope, still don’t want to play the game.

2 Likes

I can say that diverse character art is more likely to get me to look at a game/book/film because it tells me the creators of the media are more likely to actually care about their product.

4 Likes

so are there not any white dudes or you just didn’t show any because the post is about diversity?

I like the art. But have no interest in a multiplayer game where

Not my thang.

4 Likes

And? What if there weren’t any? o_O

3 Likes

For what it’s worth to me (Cisgendered White male) I find things like this refreshing, and it might draw me to a game I wouldn’t otherwise play, but not to a whole genre. 4X strategy for example, I am awful at, and won’t pick up even if it was literally face on the cover…well okay maybe then, just to figure out wtf.

It would be interesting to see other’s responses though. I don’t feel like I have a vested interest in playing a character that looks like myself, but I certainly have gotten the opportunity enough times that maybe the novelty is playing a female black amputee bisexual instead.

4 Likes

I’m a white dude, but I’ve also been playing games for many years, and over time the sameness of character art gets pretty dull. I like these portraits. Only slightly because they’re not white (though proper diversity in games should have happened a long time ago) but more because they look like something other than “grizzled cynical anti-hero-but-really-hero with biting sense of humor struggling with a Dark Past”. I am so done with that character.