Couple dies in their South Carolina home with a broken heater at 1,000 degrees

Originally published at: Couple dies in their South Carolina home with a broken heater at 1,000 degrees - Boing Boing

2 Likes

Needs some
Hell Yeah GIF by TIFF

12 Likes

By bypassing the hi-limit switch. Safety features exist for a reason.

33 Likes

I’m not an HVAC expert, but every furnace and hot water heater I’ve owned has had a high temp limit switch. Those would have to be disabled to reach the temps quoted in the article. Not really fiddling so much as sabotaging.

Oop, @FSogol-

32 Likes

And cutting the water input, or it would refill as the water boiled.

They must have done some serious fuckery to that water heater.

25 Likes

1000 degrees?! How did that thing neither explode nor melt down to slag?

27 Likes

Maybe I’m being pedantic but 705F (373.99C) is the hottest possible temperature for liquid water. 1000 degrees wouldn’t be possible for liquid water. That’s pressure (217.75 atm) is 3200 psi. That’s quite a feat for a residential water heater.

The homework:
The critical pressure is the temperature above which, a gas cannot be converted to liquid even by application of pressure. (sciencedirect.com). This is 217.75 atm which corresponds to 373.99C or
main-qimg-7f48bd2df6b9390d6b52bf5467cd2da0-pjlq

19 Likes

I think the high temp was achieved after the water had boiled off.

18 Likes

Yeah, as @RickMycroft pointed out above someone would have had to shut off the water input and all the water would have had to boil away for a water heater to get anywhere near that hot. Water heaters also have pressure relief valves that open at 150 PSI or 210 degrees farenheit, whichever comes first.

18 Likes

What a sad state of affairs. :sob:

13 Likes

This article is breaking my brain.