Data-driven look at America's brutal, racist debt-collection machine

[Read the post]

1 Like

And how is this a surprise?

1 Like

Less a “surprise” but more of a “holy shit, look at the sheer horrifying scale of it when we actually take a close look at the monster we’ve built”, plus another piece of evidence against the neigh-religious faith in the free market’s supposed ability to provide equitable outcomes for all.

11 Likes

Not 100% related, but for all the bad things we in the West hear about Sharia Law, the act of charging interest on loans (in most cases) is haraam (sinful).

I’m not a proponent of Sharia Law in general, heck no, but I am a proponent of taking the best things a culture offers and adapting them into the American “melting pot” culture.

…but I guess if Christians were conviced that greed is a Christian value then the Muslims will eventually as well?

7 Likes

I am assuming that the rise is also a result of all the pay-day loan places? NEVER get one of those. I’d rather the original bill go to collections or what ever than use one of those.

I can’t believe that shit is still legal. At least not at those interest rates. IIRC pawn shops are regulated on how much interest they can charge, and it is pretty modest.

4 Likes

This seems far more Kafka-esque than long lines at our airports.

3 Likes

Last year NPR reviewed a book about debt collection and how it’s run by less-than-stellar folks:

Bad Paper

In his new book, Jake Halpern looks at the industry, where having a criminal background is no barrier to entry. He explains debt buying and how little regulation gave rise to a chaotic marketplace.
4 Likes

Debt-collectors are represented in court by lawyers.

Probably not, if the debt is under $1000. A law clerk rubber-stamps the lawyer’s signature, a court clerk rubber-stamps the judge’s signature, and your bank gets a court order.

2 Likes