Dune subreddit bans AI art

Originally published at: Dune subreddit bans AI art | Boing Boing

15 Likes

And yet they let r/the_donald go on for half a decade.

5 Likes

New game: hand-created art in the style of AI art.

“IT TURNS THE MEDIUM’S GAZE UPON ITSELF!”

14 Likes

Just perfect. :heart:

21 Likes

Do you want the Butlerian Jihad? Because that is how you get the Butlerian Jihad.

33 Likes

I kinda wish y’all would do the same, I’m getting tired of seeing posts here with mushy Midjourney smears as hero images. I’m an artist and it’s fucking depressing to see this shit proliferating.

27 Likes

To me, and to only me, it’s just all so patently stoopid. Not a single bit of anything AI has produced conveys even the slightest bit of something not thought of before … because it’s literally made from ONLY stuff thought of before. And IMHO it. all. stinks. of. that. fact.

2 Likes

Well, sure. In a sense the type of machine learning that is currently called “AI” (that term gets redefined at least once a generation) is a process of immortalizing the mundane. Every mistake you thought was the right decision gets put in with everything you actually did right, and then the machine draws possibly spurious but definitely mediocre conclusions from that.

So, for example, Amazon feeds all its past hiring data into an “AI” and produces a bot that prefers the people who have historically been hired (and, arguably, the people who were best qualified in the past) so naturally it wants to hire white males with names like “John Smith”. It will never take a chance on a brilliant outsider or a black woman, that’s how this iteration of “AI” works.

9 Likes

As another artist, I actually like Dream; it gives me ideas for my 2D art when I’m feeling the artist’s equivalent of ‘writer’s block.’

It’s a useful tool; and just like any other tool, it can used skillfully… or it can be abused and misused.

Perspective matters.

23 Likes

Good.