Equifax announces "retirement" of the IT execs who presided over the mass-doxing of America

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2017/09/16/sorry-not-sorry.html

2 Likes

Sure the executives get a choice to resign/retire…

11 Likes

You forgot to mention one of them had no experience in IT. They had a music degree

https://m.slashdot.org/story/331283

11 Likes

Well I have a degree in dropped out but lots of IT experience so the degree is meh… no actual IT experience though. Must be nice to get a exec job and not have any idea what you are overseeing.

18 Likes

Sure, no judgment. But you weren’t responsible for a major data breach, im sure as hell going to judge the responsible party

10 Likes

Retirement, but not fired. So Directive 4 is still in effect, right?

16 Likes

Oh with the mess I am supporting now I am currently glad I didn’t have anything to do with the design. I keep seeing Archer in my head going ‘Do you want to get hacked? Cause this is how you get hacked’

10 Likes

“Retired.” In other words asked to take a payoff amount in exchange for their taking the heat about this issue. Most of us who have worked IT know the problem generally starts with CEO’s and boards who refuse to invest the money needed to secure their shit, and leave their IT departments understaffed, underpaid, and woefully unable to meet the patching cycles and security norms of our current world environment. I’ve long since moved into an organization that takes security very seriously, but users at most companies would never put up with the shit we put our users through to keep our network safe and secure. And that’s another reason why this happens: CEO’s and other employees won’t put up with the hoops needed to secure their stuff, and so refuse to take those necessary steps.

12 Likes

Sure they retire - with ginormous profits from the stocks they reportedly have been selling like hotcakes since the breach was discovered… I smell a Big Corp RAT stinkin’ up the place!