Everything, even a rock, has some degree of consciousness

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/08/23/everything-even-a-rock-has-s.html

5 Likes

My theory is that consciousness is a phenomenon that arises out of complex systems but we can only recognize it’s existence when said system results in something that can take in information and react.

10 Likes

I’ll pass this on to my stump of a boss, he’ll be delighted.

12 Likes

This made me think of this 2003 Academy Award animated short film nominee by Chris Stenner and Heidi Wittlinger: https://youtu.be/HOPwXNFU7oU

5 Likes

This is why I don’t tell anyone that I have a degree in philosophy.

49 Likes

This was all in my manifesto more than a decade ago.

It was not a best seller.

16 Likes

Try selling it to the TGOP, they’ll buy anything.

4 Likes

Hmm, I caught a rancid whiff of Deepak Chopra there for a second.

12 Likes

The technical term for the idea of rocks having some degree of consciousness is “woo” or sometimes “woo-woo”.

17 Likes

An alternative explanation is that there’s no such thing as consciousness. It’s just a made up word for a meaningless concept like “ether.”

Or

All rocks are just playing possum.

15 Likes

I don’t think there is really a chance there is no such thing as consciousness. While what consciousness is might not be anything like what we’d think it might be, I think we have a pretty good case that when we talk about being conscious we are talking about something rather than nothing.

10 Likes

This is why I believe in ghosts. Well, sort of believe in ghosts. There is always the possibility of reducing what appears to be supernatural to a physics problem, more than likely at a quantum level.

1 Like