Five years of being intimidated by the Harvard Bluebook's copyright policies

[Permalink]

I cannot fathom why he didn’t do that 4 years and 11 months earlier.

Best I can tell, this is what happened:

• Frank Bennett asked the Harvard Law Review if he could use their name and their code (more or less) in his program (an entirely reasonable request, as far as I can tell).
  • They said no.
  • He incorporated the code anyway, but didn’t use their name. (I was a bit thrown by this, but the last paragaph strongly implies it.)
  • Over the next several years, he asked several more times, in various ways and with various reasonable arguments, and was consistently rebuffed.
  • Finally, he said “fuck you, I do what I want” and changed the code he was already using to (accurately) incorporate the Bluebook name.

Am I close? Maybe this would make more sense if I was a lawyer, but as it is, parts of it seem awfully vague. I’m cheering for the guy, but is he gonna get thoroughly screwed for messing with powerful, unpleasant lawyers?

1 Like

So they are sending lawyers after someone trying to work with a publication legally required to apply to the citation of law. Just proves that law is less like code and more like cancer, all it ever does is grow, transforming everything else into itself, ruining everything, and you can never get it out of an infested part until cutting out that part, and then some.

2 Likes

I think it’s a little more nuanced than that; he has read the paper version of the book, which defines the referencing standard used in the majority of US courts. He has written some software to create references that are consistent with that referencing style. I don’t think there’s anything in particular that’s controversial about that.