Foolproof tool sharpening

[Permalink]

When I worked as a bladesmith back in the before times, we used belt sanders for all of our sharpening. It is hands down the best method for getting a well honed edge.

2 Likes

So how would this compare to, say, the sharpening attachment for my Dremel?

I too canā€™t use a sharpening stone well. Thanks for the recco!

May I also wax poetic about the old knife sharpening guy who would drive through the streets clanging this great old bell? The moms would come running out waving their utensils at the guy. Heā€™s do his work outside the back of the panel van and we kids would delight in his cool tools. Does that still happen anywhere?

I

3 Likes

Man, back in SF the little grocery store next to me had a knife sharpener come around once a week to do their deli knives, and then he started doing an overnight (or maybe it was a week) drop off service. That was awesome. Most importantly for me, he did ceramics. Iā€™m having a hell of a time finding anything in Tucson, even a shop to go to. Thereā€™s a guy or two wandering around to Farmerā€™s Markets, but they donā€™t have schedules, and Iā€™m not sure they carry diamond belts with them.

Iā€™d be tempted to get one of these, but at $96+ for the machine and belts thatā€™s two brand new knives, and I know Iā€™m not a professional, and any sharpening job I do will be inferior.

For the same money or less, you can get a benchtop sander with a 30" x 1" belt and a 5" disc. Mine cost around $50. It will do all the jobs described and more. The only advantage I see to this thing is that itā€™s pretty small, so you might be able to use it on hard-to-reach mower blades without dismounting them.

2 Likes

I did not know it was possible to sharpen serrated blades. Iā€™m guessing my cake knife (can cut angel food cake without compression) is still out of bounds.