Game publisher Take-Two to lay off workers

Originally published at: Game publisher Take-Two to lay off workers | Boing Boing

1 Like

Man, a game developers’ union would be terrible for the industry, wouldn’t it?

7 Likes

I know this has been discussed in other threads but many tech workers are indoctrinated to be furiously opposed to unions because of this mistaken belief that they have cushy jobs and are paid too much to need to worry about them. Or that they are simply too valuable to fire.

I may have felt that way in the past as a young and naive person, but I’ve been in the game long enough to know this is abjectly false. I consider myself good at my job; I’m a valued contributor, a principal engineer, I have lots of knowledge and expertise. I also have no doubt that if I was fired or hit by a bus yesterday that the business would chug along just fine without me. I often wish I had a union watching my back, especially as I get older and more concerned about being discriminated against because of that.

Happenings across the industry from crunch time controversies in gaming (gaming is particularly notorious but isn’t alone in deadline-driven misery), worker-hostile things like “unlimited vacation”, aggressive “return to office” campaigns, shoving knowledge workers into bullpens, and Twitter’s ongoing fuckery somehow still haven’t phased many.

7 Likes

6 Likes