How big offshoring companies pwned the H-1B process, screwing workers and businesses

[Read the post]

2 Likes

This isn’t a surprise to anyone who works in a technology field. And as a hiring manager, I won’t sponsor.

They’ve gamed the system best by “monetarily influencing” our lawmakers who then trumpet the successes and benefits of the H1B program, repeating it enough until it becomes true.

5 Likes

Notice on the Infosys gate: Trespassers will be employed.

This is a running gag in India, because of the absurd numbers they take in.

11 Likes

Of course if one cares about real income equality, rather than “there are people vastly richer than me”, programs like this as well as open immigration are by far one of the most effective methods of reducing global inequality, which makes far more difference to more people’s lives than the inequality in the developed countries.

Now, I don’t support open borders (although I do support healthy immigration), but I don’t pretend that almost anyone with a minimal middle class living isn’t rich, nor do I pretend that reducing real inequality isn’t going to directly impact me and my children.

I might also point out that Cory himself sells his services (books) to many different countries, presumably displacing native authors in each country in which he sells books. I approve, of course, but attacking other workers who attempt to do as he does seems odd…

It’s been a tough week. I’ll have some of those drugs you’re on.

6 Likes

On of my favorite H1B tactics is to demand a higher degree and offer minimum wage. When no workers from the U.S. who qualify accept the offer, they will bring in an H1B. It’s a nifty little end run on the system.

1 Like

This isn’t doing what you think it is to combat global income inequality.

They are not giving the poor jobs, they are giving middle to upper-middle class people jobs. Yes, they are making more money than at home, but cost of living being what it is back home, they are making a mint.