How to fix copyright in two easy steps (and one hard one)

[Permalink]

7 Likes
If the DRM was really there to prevent piracy of your work, the com­pany wouldn’t object to you taking the DRM off the works when you felt it best. After all, it’s never piracy when the author or publisher permits someone to do something with their copyrighted work.

Not really, if you realize that piracy affects the webstore as well as the author. Even if the author is fine with the lost income, the store may not be. It’s the same deal with agents. If you try to do something for altruistic reasons that affects your income, don’t expect your agent to be fine with it.

1 Like

Also,

STOP APPLYING COPYRIGHT TO ANYONE EXCEPT THE ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRY.

Really? So people who write non-fiction get no copyright? As a scientist, I see the advantage for not having copyright on scientific papers, as I get no payment for those anyway, but do you really expect that people who write science popularizations or historical works shouldn’t be able to copyright their works?

2 Likes

In the article he makes it clear the distinction is between culture and industry, not fiction and nonfiction.

What he is saying is that should be part of the negotiations. If you want to pay an agent and a webstore to host your product out of your own pocket (consider it advertising) why should you not be able to?

“Any time someone puts a lock on something that belongs to you and won’t give you the key, that lock isn’t there for your benefit”

As a transgender submissive bisexual male who enjoys being cock-locked by my partners I disagree with this.