Hugh Laurie loves Los Angeles

[Permalink]

It amuses and irritates me both when TV and movie people talk about “Los Angeles” being shallow or cruel or life-changing or whatever. Los Angeles is a big American city and most people who live there are just people.They don’t go to celebrity parties, wear designer clothes, snort coke, or audition endlessly. If you are talking about the film industry, the film-making community, the celebrity culture–say so. Don’t blame Los Angeles. Grumble.

As a long-term LA resident, I think Laurie’s article really hits the nail on the head,

Except for the “without imported water LA would be a desert” thing. That’s widely believed, but untrue, Without imported water, LA would mostly turn back into the brush-covered hillsides and oak-studded grasslands that it was before Europeans arrived.

It’s a pleasant, mild mediterranean climate, not a desert.

Look at the Google Maps satellite view - to the north of LA, there’s a big brown triangle. That’s the Mohave. That’s a desert. Palmdale. Lancaster. Barstow. That big blotch in the middle is the dry lake where they first landed the Space Shuttle.

LA is on the other side of the Coast Ranges - the ocean-facing side of the mountains uplifted by the San Andreas Fault that run along the bottom edge of the brown Mohave triangle.

What LA doesn’t have is enough water for a population of multiple millions. (Or the lush gardens and lawns they like). Its namesake river’s watershed is only barely larger than the city itself.

That river could support maybe a quarter of a million people. Add in the other two somewhat larger rivers that drain the Coast Ranges and water the coastal plain, the San Gabriel and the Santa Ana, and the total carrying capacity of the area is maybe one million people, tops.

About 12 million people live on those watersheds today. That requires imported water.