Image Comics staff wants to unionize the comic book industry

Originally published at: Image Comics staff wants to unionize the comic book industry | Boing Boing

3 Likes

This is a painfully familiar refrain to me. I worked in the professional theatre industry

I’ll chime in as a former journalist that the same is true in that field. My newsroom had a union, albeit a weak one that regularly caved to management and did little to justify the dues taken out of our already meagre wages. I hope this union does better.

Union or not, though, there is always a steady stream of young workers available to be taken advantage of by the bosses of the creative industries (academia as well) because they dare to actually want to love what they do – truly a sin in a country where the miserable Protestant Work Ethic still holds sway.

8 Likes

I wonder if there’s a story of superhero unions in there…

…in almost any industry that needs basic work done, whether inking, gig work, slinging burgers, or internships.

4 Likes

By your handle I’m assuming you also speak from experience.

2 Likes

We are also unionized, but entry level clerical workers are barely above minimum wage. Our union is fairly flaccid as well, more interested in the status quo than protecting the dues paying workers. Most levels of the hierarchy are paid better in other states.

5 Likes

These days, it’s not even young people, per se, as it is people looking to change careers doing the same thing. They’re eager to get work, so they undercut everyone to get the work. I’ve been seeing a lot of pushes lately telling the whole “writing is the original work from home/Make big money as a writer” kind of thing. I think folks are trying to find ways to get out of traditional employment and see writing as a strong option.

2 Likes