It's time to stop asking users for periodic password changes

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/06/03/its-time-to-stop-asking-user.html

11 Likes

Chief among them, the requirements encourage end users to choose weaker passwords than they otherwise would. A password that had been “P@$$w0rd1” becomes “P@$$w0rd2” and so on.

Those passwords seem equally strong. How is the second weaker than the first?

3 Likes

I’m just guessing, since I’m not a security expert, but if the first one got revealed/hacked/linked to your account, just incrementing that password puts it on a shaky foundation. It’s like a partial key.

But I could be wrong.

8 Likes

But even in that case it’s equally insecure, not weaker.

2 Likes

i think it’s that they are both weak

the theory being people choose weaker, easy to remember passwords, because people wont invest their memory’s attention into something they know will change soon anyway

basically all i want in the world is a key fob that i plug into a machine, enter my private passcode to the fob, and unlock the things i need

currently last pass + my phone is closest to this

too many passwords to remember otherwise :crying_cat_face:

15 Likes

I don’t really understand the allergy to writing passwords down. I keep passwords in my wallet. If I lose my wallet I’m fucked anyway and would change all my passwords immediately. My passwords are brutal in complexity. No one with access to my desk or wallet would be the ones interested in hacking me…

3 Likes

This. The point is, they’re not random, and l33t speak passwords are not secure, they’re checked along with CamelCase, alternating caps, etc etc. Random passwords (like those your password manager generates) are much, much stronger.

As I mentioned in the post, Cory did a story on these, and yes, they’re gamechangers:

I have YubiKey myself and can’t wait for it to be my default auth everywhere, with 2FA TTOP codes in my phone as my backup.