KRACK! Wifi's go-to security, WPA2, is fatally flawed, and will probably never be patched in many places

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2017/10/16/eschaton-immanentized.html

3 Likes

Well I guess I have an excuse to buy a new router now…

ETA or just find an old one that works with tomato and try that out for funs.

4 Likes

4 Likes

This is more of a problem for Wi-Fi at your workplace or at the coffee shop (assuming it’s even secured in the first place which it rarely is) than at home unless you live in a dense are or don’t trust that sullen kid next door that never leaves the house.

I haven’t read the Ars article yet. Is this something that can be corrected with patches or is it inherent to the design of WPA2? Is there something waiting in the wings after WPA2? I’ve never heard of anything myself.

I’ve been using a VPN on my phone now for 6 months or so, set to automatically enable whenever I connect to Wi-Fi (thanks, Tasker!). I’ve been pretty satisfied with it. Only thing that hasn’t worked is online banking (they actively block VPNs) but that’s not a huge problem. I can just disconnect from Wi-Fi and use the (presumably) more secure path through my cell data network.

Edit: After reading the Ars article it does sound like this is indeed fixable with patches but as already pointed out that won’t happen in the vast majority of access points.

3 Likes

Do we now need WPA3?
No, luckily implementations can be patched in a backwards-compatible manner. This means a patched client can still communicate with an unpatched access point, and vice versa. In other words, a patched client or access points sends exactly the same handshake messages as before, and at exactly the same moments in time. However, the security updates will assure a key is only installed once, preventing our attacks. So again, update all your devices once security updates are available.

1 Like