Live in a San Francisco Ikea bunk-bed in a mass hacker dormitory for a mere $1k/mo

[Permalink]

Cannot possibly have the permits to make it legal. I know, I know, disrupting the paradigm blah blah blah.

6 Likes

Ad already craigsdelisted.

1 Like

There’s something unnecessarily institutional about free-standing bunkbeds.

Why not screw light plywood, or “masonite,” on one side, so that there’s a partition?

7 Likes

For people moving there with uncertain income prospects theres probably a huge amount of value in the fact there is no requirement for a long term commitment.

2 Likes

Every now and then one of my old college buddies razzes me for still living in the “small” (quarter of a million people) town where I got my degree instead of moving to the west coast where the good jobs are.

I remind them that I’m paying $400 plus utilities for a thousand square feet with high ceilings and central air, right next to downtown. It usually does the trick.

6 Likes

I worked for a US startup for three weeks and in my experience those people never sleep.

4 Likes

Based entirely on this article, a quick and dirty calculation suggests that working 40 hours a week at minumum wage, it is impossible to afford basic rent in San Fran, much less food, clothing, transportation, healthcare, or anything else. At 60 hours a week my numbers suggest you can pay your rent, eat ramen, and buy clothes just often enough to replace your old ones as they fall apart.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised? I already knew New York was a black hole of untenable housing for millions trying to scrape by on dead end jobs.

3 Likes

It’d be interesting to see if this complete ripoff is anything close to code-compliant.

1 Like

I thought the Japanese solved this already?

1 Like