MATLAB is computer science for legit scientists, but you can learn it too with this training

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/09/22/matlab-is-computer-science-for-legit-scientists-but-you-can-learn-it-too-with-this-training.html

But non-legit mad scientists use abacuses!

4 Likes

Correction, MATLAB is for Engineers. Scientists use Mathematica, and the hard core ones use C++ or other similar programs that work on supercomputers.

2 Likes

That screenshot looks a lot like python.

10 Likes

While I’m not a scientist, the various sciences and the discipline of dedicated scientists fascinates me. The courage to question your beliefs and discard them when you find fault or flaws, that’s admirable. I only know the name because I believe they are one of NPR’s sponsors Wouldn’t it be a concept worth having in all forms of human endeavor? Maybe even politicians could govern better if they had the courage and curiosity to question their own work. Silly concept I know but still…

Sure @jerwin …but for legit scientists!!! :nerd_face:

1 Like

I’ve never seen anybody use MATLAB outside of academics.

I’ve seen a lot of use of MATLAB outside academics! :slight_smile:

1 Like

I use octave as a four function calculator…

1 Like

Um, I think it is python and isn’t MATLAB.

3 Likes

Once I knew mscript, but it’s withered away. I’m much more familiar with python. The neat thing about mscript, iirc, was that vectors made the code neater (and possibly faster). It is possible to use any language as if it was fortran, though, which makes identifying code from a screenshot rather dicy. “def” is the big clue in this instance.

“…but you CHUMPS can learn it too”

I like how this add assumes that
a. almost noone who reads this is a scientist
b. on the off chance you are one, you can’t be legit.

2 Likes

Yes, definitely python. It appears to be from the github scrapy project (specifically, a file named dupefilters.py)

3 Likes