Messages sent to artists wanting them to work for free

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2016/08/31/messages-sent-to-artists-wanti.html

6 Likes

15 Likes

It’s fine for us business types to make money from your labor, but you artistic types have to get over the idea of getting paid. This is the New Economy, which is like the Old Economy, except we’re cheating the makers of a different product.

31 Likes

You can die of exposure…

31 Likes

Notice that nobody ever sends these kinds of “opportunities” to accountants or plumbers or engineers.

29 Likes

If someone promises you exposure, put your Patreon address in the middle of the image. If they complain, tell them they promised.

:smiling_imp::smiling_imp::smiling_imp:

18 Likes
19 Likes

Now I really want to make an artist career sim game where one of the possible outcomes is an Oregon Trail screen reading, “You have died from exposure.”

Anyone want in on this? I can’t pay you…

37 Likes

As an engineer, I can say that it’s rare but not unheard-of for us. Usually, it’s non-profits and schools that ask for free work, with the subtext that we should be ashamed for even thinking of asking for a fee from such a worthy cause. (They seldom even offer exposure.) Naturally, doing the work for free doesn’t remove liability, and many “charitable” organizations view shotgun-pattern lawsuits (sue everyone within a five mile radius for unrelated problems) as a profit stream. Far too many “free” jobs end up costing five or six figures to make go away.

In any case, it’s not nearly as prevalent as the routine abuses artists see.

19 Likes

At least those kinds of organizations are generally up-front about the fact they are asking for an act of charity.

13 Likes

The line “You can’t expect to get paid for everything you do, sometimes you just have to do your job.” is a true masterpiece of conceptual confusion.

And what, pray tell, do you think a ‘job’ is?