Middle-Earth from Space

[Permalink]

1 Like

What I think would be fun is for some brainiac to decipher the tectonics of whatever they call the planet that middle-earth is on and answer if continental features as they were drawn by Tolkien could actually exist.

I’m an armchair geologist at best, but it seems to me a lot of things in there that couldn’t happen naturally… the box of mountains around Mordor being an easy example.

A wizard did it.

3 Likes

Damn those wizards.

The Wizards only came to Middle Earth to oppose Sauron, so they were a bit late to do it. The plate tectotonics of Middle Earth must be a bit unusual if it was originally flat, but there are interpretations that it was always round.

[the comment system is buggy again]

I suppose a mantle-plume hotspot could both create Orodruin and a localized Basin And Range Province environment of stretched-out lithosphere. Later tectonic action could deform the resulting valleys and mountains and GOD DAMN IT I HAVE WORK TO DO.

3 Likes

I bet there’s some Magellan-like figure in Middle Earth trying to find an Eastern route to the undying lands.

1 Like

I thought that you could just zoom in on New Zealand.

1 Like

The Outterra software looks pretty awesome. I wonder if it could render non-spherical worlds? Like Halo, or Ringworld, or Varley’s Titan.

That link to fastcodesign.com appears to be broken…

i wonder if Stephen Colbert has commented on this.

I kind of like to imagine a Future Middle Earth where the Dwarves, in search of new caves to mine and riches to uncover, have developed space travel and a fellowship led by a great, great, great (etc, etc) Baggins ancestor begins a quest to the the Sun to finally and ultimately destroy a recently resurfaced One-Ring, which has reconstituted itself over centuries by means of some unknown powerful dark magic.