MLMs are cults that prey on moms, Mormons and the military

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/07/12/uplines-r-us.html

4 Likes

Storytime: when I was a university student in Provo, a 3-day job became available to work as a EN-JP translator for the NuSkin convention: thousands of dupes were at the convention center in SLC. My job was to shepherd the Japanese ones on the bus down to Provo, show them the glorious HQ, and generally reassure them in their choices. Not knowing the lingo for ‘upstream’ and ‘downstream’ or ‘sponsor’ or whatever, I resorted to what seemed to be accurate: 親分 (oyabun) and 子分 (kobun) which are the terms for the yakuza. It seemed appropriate. My customers would correct my mislabels, to which I would apologise sheepishly and explain that my Japanese wasn’t very good. Fifteen minutes later, I would use the terms again.

58 Likes

I know one family that got in early on an MLM and made a fortune. Sadly many who know them were encouraged and joined other ones that failed.

10 Likes

MLM: It is possible to have “end customers” to your products that are not related to your downstream.
Pyramid Scam: There is no such thing as “end customers.”

6 Likes
25 Likes

Rather Mary Kay centered but lots and lots of general material on MLMs generally at PinkTruth

The site owner and founder (Tracy) is a forensic accountant and certified expert witness for financial crimes. She dreams of an MLM suing her because, well, discovery is a bitch.

28 Likes