Moral panic article from 1984 about the demise of slide rules

Originally published at: Moral panic article from 1984 about the demise of slide rules | Boing Boing

7 Likes

I’m just old enough to know what a sliderule is while not being old enough to have ever used one. I’d like to own one for the same reason I’d like to own a sextant. They can be very beautiful devices and look like fun things to play with and learn about but I’d never want my life to be dependent on my knowledge of their use.

28 Likes

I think that having a teacher show the relationship between numbers looks like with a demonstration on the use of a slide ruler would be useful, but if i was a teacher i would not expect students to actually get invested in using it over a calculator

13 Likes

I sort of remember this, but I didn’t really learn to use the slide rule until my last year in high school, which was 1970. At some point someone stole my slide rule and I finally got a calculator. Doing advanced algebra and calculus tho it didn’t really help much.

3 Likes

We had a math teacher around 1983 who mandated slide rules for his class. Only time I ever used it, and have never used one since. The people who need to program the computers seem to be doing just fine without slide rules these days.

11 Likes

I used some slide rules for fun back in college but calculators were standard by then (HP 41CV got me through a lot). I did have a first semester physics professor who decided calculators were ruining us so we had to take all his tests without one, using only long-hand math. What a pain in the …

7 Likes

Couldn’t you even use log tables?

3 Likes

Maybe we did lose something when we moved from slide rules to calculators. We lost a visceral understanding of what it’s like to manipulate numbers, but we gained so much more.