Nightmares about forgotten exams? You're not alone — the science behind academic anxiety dreams

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2024/05/30/nightmares-about-forgotten-exams-youre-not-alone-the-science-behind-academic-anxiety-dreams.html

6 Likes

I don’t tend to have classroom anxiety dreams now that I’m no longer a student.

However, when I was a teacher, I used to have them all the time. They were exactly the same as the student anxiety dreams, except I was in the role of teacher. These dreams featured exciting remixes of the classics, such as:

• Oh no, I forgot to teach this class all semester and now there’s two weeks until the exam and I have to teach the students everything in that time!
  • It’s exam day and I forgot to write the exam! I have two hours to write it, go!
  • I’m at the chalkboard teaching the class and I suddenly realize I’m not wearing any pants!

You get the picture.

15 Likes

Yes indeed! Three most common recurring, and unaccountable, dreams which plague this old pilgrim (haven’t taken a class in more than 25 years):

1. sudden recollection having forgot to feed/care for a pet which never had
  2. lost in some endless edifice, typically some labyrinthine government or industrial complex
  3. not only haven’t studied for an exam, can’t recall when/where class was even held

So common that sometimes manage to conclude “oh not this stupid thing again”

15 Likes

I used to have nightmares all the time about realizing half-way through the semester that I was in a college class, and I had missed all my classes so far.

I finally cured this last year!

I went back for another graduate degree for the first time in 20 years. Now I actually have classes, and I haven’t missed one, and the nightmare has gone.

Now I just have to work out how to stay in school forever…

12 Likes
11 Likes