NYC civic hackers invite frustrated Silicon Valleyites to do good in New York

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2017/10/25/tech-for-good.html

3 Likes
First, New York has a long-standing history as a city with the most diverse population of human capital in the world.

As Wikipedia would put it, [citation needed]. Even if we are just talking about the US, I have a hard time believing that the Disneyland for the rich that is modern NYC is more diverse (by whatever criterion) than, say, Chicago.

5 Likes

Okay, NYC, you’re on. I’m a resident of Silicon Valley who is extremely irritated that he pulls down a fairly decent salary but still can’t afford to buy a house within reasonable commuting distance of his workplace. Can you offer me (a) a programming job with an extremely large, stable tech company that gives me a comparable salary to what I have now (at least low six figures), (b) a house in a decent neighborhood for $600k or less (a real house, not a stinking condo or apartment), and © a one-way commute time of less than 45 minutes?

I have my doubts. But I grant you that I’m a bit unusual, in that I despise shared dwellings and that I don’t consider multi-hour commutes to be acceptable.

The big advantage I’ve found of working in Silicon Valley is that if I need to look for a new job, there are a hundred other interesting companies that are hiring.

And the last two economic downturns were somewhat muted here in Silicon Valley compared to the rest of the US. We still felt it, but we didn’t feel it anywhere near as bad as I saw my relatives feel it in other parts of the US. (NJ and MI being the areas I had the most second hand knowledge about)

3 Likes

You can stay in Silicon Valley.

3 Likes

Perhaps NYC is trying to do what Mr. Robot’s Elliot is currently trying to do with E-Corp, removing the craptacular employees and replacing them with more (relatively speaking) honest ones.