On white collar and blue collar jobs

In the sense of “If you love what you do, you will never work a day in your life,” no, I do not work and never have. But yes, in any other sense, I do feel that I work. And while I may not come home covered in dirt, that is because I wash the pus, snot and blood off at work. I come home exhausted, even though my work is not physically demanding. So yes, I do feel I can say I work for a living. I love what I do, and make a very good living, but yes, I do work. Intellectual work is work, IMHO.

18 Likes

Well yeah, often because they’re not being paid enough to live on and pay off student loans for the three or four courses they’re teaching at two or three campuses, and they’re being paid nothing for the research they’re also trying to publish.

My dude, what’s happening now to people with PhDs who hope to become professors is a travesty. In our neoliberal order, they’ve become proles, no matter how clean their fingernails may be.

Right?

And aside from professors at most elite institutions, most are working more and more, with increased class sizes and teaching loads, more and more meetings and other service and administrative work as faculty ranks shrink, increased publication demands, doing extra work that no longer existent staff used to do, and on and on. But hey, at least they don’t get literally covered in grime! (Which actually is a nice thing I suppose, but mental labor comes with its own forms of grime.)

14 Likes

The brain runs through a lot of glucose, the harder it has to work.