Scientists generate electricity from shadows

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/06/09/scientists-generate-electricit.html

6 Likes

Our SEG performs 200% better than that of commercial silicon solar cells under the effects of shadows.

I’m not sure “working better than something light-powered in the dark” is a particularly high bar.

10 Likes

So… it would have to be able to move with the sun to be useful? Hmm. And it doesn’t store energy if it’s entirely in sunlight? Hmm again.

I mean, I guess it has a purpose or they wouldn’t have pursued it so hard, but I’m having trouble imagining what that purpose would be. I suppose that’s part of why I’m not a scientist.

3 Likes

why not put the shadow-powered part on the bottom side?

12 Likes

Solar panels in solar farms create shadows themselves (they also commonly change angle to maintain optimum angle to the sun). So if this type of cell is truly more efficient, you could design solar farms to intentionally overlap panels to create areas of shadow on each other (as well as use the space more efficiently).

It wasn’t clear from the abstract what the scale of the cells are. If they are the size of conventional panels, then that’s cool. If the individual cells that require light and shadow are small, then the structure would have to be built into the panel design.

9 Likes

Is there a perpetual motion or free energy device involved as well?

2 Likes

It’s still solar. It’s not like the little white-and-black solar windmills are “free energy devices.”

7 Likes

I was thinking it had to be something akin to this device you linked a picture to. The energy has to come from somewhere.

1 Like

Finally somebody found a use for those good-for-nothing eclipses!

2 Likes

Stay out of the shadows!

6 Likes

A coin cell can also power a basic quartz watch for several years in complete shadow.

4 Likes

Hey, you’re blocking my light. :stuck_out_tongue: