The right to repair is the right to screw up

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2020/04/10/the-right-to-repair-is-the-rig.html

6 Likes

Ah - I remember replacing my laptop keyboard. Like a fucking moron I snapped off the little plastic tab that holds the ribbon to the mother board. I took the god damn thing apart like 20 times before finding a way to get consistent contacts.

Then a year later the video card died, I think.

5 Likes

Nice perspective; I was holding out for it to not bring demerit that you typed in accidental languages, but I can be happy there’s a Pomero for starters and later remember whether RTL/LTR battles are my thing or not.

1 Like

Time to read (or reread) Pirsig’s take on “stuckness”. As an aging mechanic I am constantly brought back to this notion of this is why you wanted to be a mechanic and why you enjoy it, but not while it is happening.

You even mentioned how easy the other tasks were, and by that nature you got little out of them. When you fix this you will feel more pleasure about this fix than the other jobs put together. If you fail to fix it it will still have learned more from it than the others.

Here is a link to the passage. It is too long to copy.

https://dylanbeattie.net/2017/04/24/robert-m-pirsig-on-stuckness.html

1 Like

I’ve been trying to teach our children that “The best time to fix it is when it’s already broke!” That they should be afraid to at least TRY to repair something.

5 Likes

I’m about where you are, and my average is about 50%. MacBook - fixed. Oven igniter - fixed. Flat panel TV - fail, MacMini - fail. All items were bound for the recycling bin, so I consider it a win overall. The other part of it is I learn. The next time I try to replace the LEDs in a flat panel tv I think I will succeed, because I pay attention to my failures. I will say that computer parts are too damn small and fragile!

2 Likes