The unintentionally funny story of @japhroiag

So the company that fired me in April kept me on as a contract employee. One of my biggest beefs was my CTO canceled all but a handful of talks, calls, appointments, etc.

On this new contract I have been working for two months under a different exec. For no pay. Guess what he does?

Cancels, cancels, cancels. I spent hours trying to call him, and he wouldn’t pick up. So I did the unthinkable.

I quit over text.

I feel so millennial now. He is a good person, but the culture there is toxic. And can I say I felt… Pleasure… In quitting over text since he wouldn’t actually talk to me?

This chapter in my life is done. For real. Now off to learn Russian (I’m not joking)

16 Likes

Doesn’t sound funny to me.

What kind of contract involves no pay for 2 months? And for the company that fired you? You’re a better man than I am, Gunga Din.

6 Likes

three months, paychecks were Net 30 :smile: . and it’s called moving goal posts, and me acquiescing. until now. and i will never see a penny from the work i already did.

KIDS, learn from my mistakes. don’t repeat them.

10 Likes

I foresee an evening of Rumchata in your near future!

6 Likes

etci horosho.

4 Likes

sigh

Can’t talk too much, but at the hospital with someone. Appendicitis or a cyst. I have no insurance. This may bankrupt me.

God i hope it is just an ulcer.

Fuck fuck fuck fuck fuck fuck fuuuuuucckkkkkk

Ffffuuuuuuuuuuucccccccckkkkkkkkkkj

2 Likes

Ugh! This turned unfunny too quickly.

2 Likes

Life just keeps giving you a kicking, eh?

Hang in there.

1 Like

This has been quite the few months.

3 Likes

As soon as you get out of this you should look into your own insurance for freelancers. COBRA possibly?

2 Likes

I have $5500 in the bank. My monthly burn rate is $2800. Cobra is $800 a month. I still have no income.

I may be tapping my 401k in the next 24 hours.

I’m kinda freaking out again :smile:

2 Likes