The US Patent Office just (in 2017!) awarded IBM a patent over out-of-office email

Originally published at: http://boingboing.net/2017/03/01/alice-vs-cls-bank.html

I am happy to let Google fight this battle for me.

1 Like

That’s a dangerous attitude.

2 Likes

If the USPTO fails to give IBM a patent, and IBM sues them, they are a party and have to defend their action in court. They have to have their lawyers go to court and defend their not granting a patent. If they give IBM an poopy patent and somebody sues because there is prior art, USPTO is NOT a defendent in the action, it is between whomever and IBM. So there is a tendency to be very liberal in granting patents to well funded applicants.

5 Likes

The US Patent Office just (in 2017!) awarded IBM a patent over out-of-office email

No, it didn’t.

(Disclaimer: I am a patent attorney - but I am not IBM’s patent attorney, I’ve had no role in this patent, and the first time I encountered any of this was 10 minutes ago in this BB post.)

Here’s the part of the independent claim that you missed:

in response to said determining that the current date is PRIOR TO the start date … attaching the extracted availability indicator metadata to the e-mail…

In other words:

• I tell my computer I’m going to be gone from, let’s say, March 15th through March 22nd.

• Someone emails me on March 3rd.

• In an outgoing reply to that message, my email client automatically attaches a notification like: “Please be advised that I will be out of the office from March 15th to March 22nd.”

This is a future-looking out-of-office notification. Do computers typically do that in 2017? No, they don’t. They notify you of the CURRENT out-of-office period, but not a future out-of-office period.