This innovative music service curates songs for productivity

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2019/05/04/this-innovative-music-service.html

Sounds like a bunch of woo to me.

8 Likes

Wat? Oh come now, the songs are scientifically designed!

(I find plenty such playlists on Spotify.)

8 Likes

Some of us used to put on a CD when we started to write, heard the first track, and then looked up an hour later to notice that we hadn’t heard the rest of the album. So some of us stopped bothering.

4 Likes

Found it totally useless. Even counterproductive. Might have to do with the fact that I’m a musician.

6 Likes

I’m still dubious about that Spotify Fragrance playlist. Is that real?
Maybe if I paid for Premium the ad would go away…

1 Like

Probably. I pay for premium and have no idea what that is.

1 Like

“Unredeemed licenses can be returned for store credit within 15 days of purchase.”

OT: Am I the only person who finds the use of “redeem” like this to be annoying?

What’s wrong with “used” ? “Unused licenses can be returned”. Same with “rate” when you mean “price”. “Room rate”. NO! It’s “room price” you insufferable arse!

Using obscure words which can easily be substituted for clear ones pollutes the world with doubt about hidden meanings and I wish it would fucking stop.

EDIT: Oh god I’ve just seen it also says, “Redemption: must redeem purchase within 30 days”! Do they have some kind of Roman Catholic fixation or something?

6 Likes

Under other circumstances I might have expected a different kind of title from BB, such as “Company sells music tool that psychologically manipulates employees to work harder for the same pay.” :slight_smile:

But, the question is does it work? And I’m thinking the answer is “depends”. For me, music is just distracting. And the answer is a big “no, not ever.”