Watch Depression-era machinists and laborers forge and mill steel parts

Originally published at: https://boingboing.net/2017/09/19/watch-depression-era-machinist.html

2 Likes

To clarify - it is a production setting, building cars… the Old School way.
Brutal, dangerous, hard work. Only the Tool and Die folks at the start are very precision.

I cringed watching this video, because, as a manufacturing engineer, I watched the waste just pour out of the processes. Waste of human capital, waste of materials, waste of time, waste of effort, waste of space, etc. etc., etc. And, the incredibly dirty, cramped, dangerous workplace… sigh. The Old School killed off a lot of folks that way.

Search Youtube for ‘Westinghouse night dance’ to see another video of a factory of that era. At 4:20 in the video is an incredible scene of hand-forging a huge ring for a generator. Boggling! (I’d last about 30 seconds doing any of that!)

11 Likes

Oh fuck, I’ll never complain about my shitty job ever again, and to think they had to listen all day to that happy go luck music to boot.

3 Likes

Brave men that work all day around large rotating machinery and wear neckties.

Granted they were all wearing vests or aprons, but still very scary.

5 Likes

The joys of cheap human capital. 3/4 of my great grandfathers ended up injured or maimed in auto or coal during the '30s, and the one who didn’t was hunchbacked from leaning over a drafting table most of his life.

8 Likes

At some point, I thought I was watching Fantasia.

Metropolis more like…

4 Likes

Anybody know what plant that is?

The days when Men were MEN and those who didn’t survive were forgotten…

Here’s that amazingly muscular sequence of hand forge-welding a big ring at the Westinghouse factory:

NO gloves
NO eye protection
NO heat shields
NO steel-toed boots (I’m sure)
NO ear protection (that’s OK, “You’ll ‘get used’ to it”)
NO air purification (I’m sure)
Swinging 16 pound sledges all day

SHEESH!

2 Likes