Woman "electrocuted" by faulty USB adapter

[Permalink]

Sheryl Anne Aldeguerdeath’s death has prompted warning against buying cheap USB chargers or adaptors…

I was looking for “electrocucted” in the article, but that appears to be your typo, Rob.

Looks like you’ve got a typo in your headline there. The proper past tense of “electrocuct” is “electrocacked.”

9 Likes

Burns to her ears from her headphones. Pretty scary way to be shocked dead… I wonder how a device designed to put out a small current at 5vDC could fail so catastrophically to regulate voltage.

Blaming the USB charger seems to be rather speculative at this point. She was found dead with burns on her chest from the laptop and on her ears from headphones. I’m no expert, but based only on the article, it sounds like the defect could have been at any number of places. Frightening and tragic either way, though.

1 Like

ELECTROCUCTED??? Use spell check much, Boing Boing?

Electrocarked, surely?

1 Like

“I hope you’ve all learned your lesson.”
-Apple

1 Like

She died sometime between the last time she was seen alive and the time she was found dead.

I’m glad the article clarified that. I was wondering if this could have been a time travel mishap. Now my weekend can proceed as planned.

10 Likes

You are the third person to mention this. Read comments, much? Also jeeez, typos happen, no need to get so angry over a typo.

1 Like

Mind your own beeswax, lose the attitude.

I…no.

9 Likes

What voltages does Australia use? I ask because I’ve been hit by 110v (the US residential standard) many many times and never once received anything resembling a burn mark.

EDIT: Rob, how dare you make a mistake!? Don’t you understand the importance of placating the grammar/spelling Nazi?

1 Like