$10m look into games and gun violence a bust

[Permalink]

Looks like you’ve got a broken link.

EDIT: I think this is the link: http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/210322/video_games_and_gun_violence_a_.php

1 Like

I am fuzzyfungus’ complete lack of surprise…

Incidentally, that reminds me of the (honestly, a trifle disturbing, I have to admit) experience I had when I started playing Skyrim. It’s a hack-n’-slash-n’-fireball action RPG, so there’s a certain amount of blood and big axes and people grunting just like a more Nordic version of the Doom Guy when they get hit; but suddenly I realized what had been nagging at me:

Skyrim is, per the story, in the midst of a bloody civil war, with strong ethnic(human vs. aldmeri, human vs. dunmer, nord vs. reachmen) and religious (Talos, divinity status of) dimensions; but there are minimal atrocities and war crimes, almost no violence against civilians by regular or irregular military forces, virtually no use of sexual violence as a weapon of war, almost no collective punishment, ethnic cleansing, scorched-earth attacks on crops and other food supplies, and so on.

I’d apparently spent so little time playing violent video games, and so much reading the news, that my perception of what qualified as a ‘real’ civil war had been warped beyond what Bethesda was willing to publish…

7 Likes

More like, “Warped beyond what would be fun to play for most people in a game.”

1 Like

Ethnic cleansing and mass rape tend to turn people off from an entertainment. The lack of such atrocious elements helped it sell a gajillion copies instead of getting mired in controversy.

2 Likes