Alain de Botton breaks down how to build a beautiful city

[Permalink]

1 Like

Alain’s books never disappoint. Highly recommend Status Anxiety for Americans, How Proust Can Change Your Life for anyone else. How he can be so articulate, intelligent, insightful, and well read never ceases to delight me.

Did you ever click on the library and read that long bonus rant by Neil Gaiman? Pretty sure it was in SC2000.

I had being in a lot of cities and I subscribe almost everything said in the video (5 stories top feels a bit too short for me).

I studied to be a tourist technician and every time I see a city or town in TV I flex my marketing brain to see how could I sell, touristically, that place.

I will only say that dealing with American cities not in the old thirteen colonies or the west coast is a nightmare of Wall Mart parking lots proportions…

Wow. It’s like a TED talk on what Christopher Alexander wrote in 1979. Alain de Botton is merely reguritating The Timeless Way of Building here. If you want to know how all the humane, fractal components of life, from how to build a bathroom all the way to a full-sized metropolis, Alexander’s work is more or less the perfect guide.

4 Likes

Alain de Botton looks like a human being as designed by HR Giger. His forehead rises high up to a vaulted dome, a tapering lizard’s egg of a cranium. His eyebrows jolt and shudder with his shoulders. His nose has a lubricious gleam; his mouth is a dark stain, red wine or fresh blood, and when he talks his deathly-white teeth seem to slide oilily against each other. His skin is faintly rubbery, and while it mostly seems to fit him there are still a few places where is bunches up or stretches out, like a cutaneous gimp suit. He looks weird, interstellarly weird; half Mystery Man from Lynch’s Lost Highway, half sentient rock formation.

Why does Alain de Botton want us to kill our young?

Yes.