Creepy board game is stark reminder of Australia's racist past

[Permalink]

“Past”? Change “coloured men” to “coloured refugees” and it’s absolutely contemporary.

15 Likes

Subtle…but no more nauseating than some of the vile “culture” here in the US at the time. Would probably resonate at certain Tea Party gatherings today.

Where exactly were the “colored” people supposed to end up? The ocean?

1 Like

The worst part is that the “White Australia” policy lingered in various forms until the late 1970s—including the despicable practice of kidnapping Aboriginal children to raise them in white culture.

The country has come a long way considering how recently it had overtly racist laws on the books but there are still a lot of old-school bigots around. When I studied abroad there for a while in the late '90s Pauline Hanson was still a political force to be reckoned with. And of course the national complexion is still suspiciously caucasian considering that the country is practically part of Asia from a geographic standpoint.

4 Likes

Does the copyright cover the abstract solitaire version of the game?
One of the first Windows games I played on a Windows 3.0 was an abstract version where you simply had to move grey pegs left and black pegs right, following just the same rules --If I had known the racist past of that game I had never played it.

(And, on the serious part of this thread, the fact that the kid kidnapping practiced in the 70s felt upon the definition of genocide according to the 1948 convention against genocide. On the other hand, from the European point of view, Australia is not a part of Asia but from Oceania, along with the islands of the Pacific).

White supremacist 1914 board game is stark reminder of Australia’s racist past

That, or a draft version of current Asylum Seeker policy.

5 Likes

Oh Christ don’t remind me. Luckily we had Howard at the helm to neutralise the threat by co-opting it. It wasn’t exactly a long road for him.